The best way to respond to: who controls northern Cyprus?

Northern Cyprus is controlled by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

Explanatory question

Northern Cyprus is controlled by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC), which is not recognized by the United Nations or any country other than Turkey. The situation arose in 1974, when Turkey invaded Cyprus in response to a coup d’état by a Greek Cypriot nationalist group seeking unification with Greece. The TRNC was established in 1983, following decades of political and military tension, as a self-declared state in the northern third of the island.

A quote from the vice-president of the TRNC, Serdar Denktas, sheds light on the current state of Northern Cyprus: “We are a nation without recognition, but with dignity.”

Here are several interesting facts about Northern Cyprus:

  • The island of Cyprus is divided by a United Nations-patrolled buffer zone, known as the Green Line, that separates the TRNC from the rest of Cyprus.
  • Northern Cyprus is home to around 326,000 people, according to a 2016 estimate. Its capital city is Nicosia, which is also the capital of the Republic of Cyprus.
  • The region has its own government, president, prime minister, parliament, and military. However, these bodies are not recognized by the international community.
  • The economy of Northern Cyprus depends heavily on tourism and agriculture. Its currency is the Turkish lira, and its official languages are Turkish and Turkish Cypriot dialect.
  • The TRNC has its own flag and national anthem, and its citizens have their own passports. However, these documents are not widely recognized outside of Turkey.
IT\'S IMPORTANT:  Best response to: how do I register a company in North Cyprus?

To summarize, Northern Cyprus is controlled by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which is not recognized by most countries as a sovereign state. Despite this lack of recognition, the TRNC has developed its own government, economy, and culture over the course of several decades.

Video answer

Cyprus became divided after tensions rose between the Greek and Turkish populations following the country’s independence from Britain, leading to a Greek-backed coup in 1974. Turkey intervened unilaterally to protect the Turkish minority, which embarrassed the military government in Greece and led to international condemnation when Turkey continued to push further across the island. The Turkish Cypriot administration was created, and many people were forced out of their homes and cleared from the north. In 1983, the Turkish Cypriot government declared independence, which was only supported by Turkey, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Despite international condemnation, the island remains divided today.

Some additional responses to your inquiry

The northern part of Cyprus has been administered by Turkish Cypriots since 1974 and proclaimed itself the “Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus” (“TRNC”) in 1983. The United States does not recognize the “TRNC,” nor does any country other than Turkey.

You will most likely be interested in this

Herein, Is Northern Cyprus owned by Turkey? No country other than the Republic of Turkey has officially recognised Northern Cyprus as a sovereign state. The United Nations recognises it as territory of the Republic of Cyprus under Turkish occupation.

In this way, Which country does Northern Cyprus belong to?
As an answer to this: Turkey
The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) is a self-declared state recognized only by Turkey. It has a democratic, multiparty political system, and civil liberties are generally upheld.

IT\'S IMPORTANT:  General problems: what Colour is Cyprus on travel list?

Which countries support North Cyprus? Answer to this: International recognition
At present Turkey is the only country which recognises Northern Cyprus.

Thereof, Is Northern Cyprus politically stable?
Despite the problem of the division of the island the Republic of Cyprus has a stable political environment based on a presidential system. Executive power is exercised by the President elected by universal suffrage for a 5-year term and his Council of Minsters (appointed, not elected).

Did you know that, Northern Cyprus transit visa allows travelers to pass through Northern Cyprus’s international zone without entering the island. Merchants, drivers or tourists who do not seek to stay in Cyprus must obtain a transit visa. Tourist visa application requirements for Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus are explained below.
Rate article
Travel to Cyprus