Your inquiry is — is Cyprus exempt from the 90 day rule?

No, Cyprus is not exempt from the 90 day rule for non-EU citizens in the Schengen Area.

For those who require additional information

Cyprus, a member country of the European Union, is not exempt from the 90 day rule for non-EU citizens in the Schengen Area. The 90 day rule states that non-EU citizens can only stay in the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period. This rule is enforced to prevent abuse of the visa-free travel policy and to ensure the security of the Schengen Area.

According to the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cyprus, “Cyprus follows the EU law regarding the entry and stay of non-EU citizens in the Schengen Area. Thus, non-EU citizens who hold a valid Schengen visa or a residence permit issued by a Schengen country may enter Cyprus and stay for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.”

It is important for non-EU citizens traveling to Cyprus to keep track of their time in the Schengen Area to avoid any legal issues or potential deportation. The 90 day rule applies to all non-EU citizens, regardless of their destination within the Schengen Area.

One famous quote related to visa regulations comes from Benjamin Franklin, who said, “They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” While his quote may not directly apply to visa regulations, it emphasizes the importance of balancing security measures with individual rights.

IT\'S IMPORTANT:  Quick answer to: is it legal to buy property in Northern Cyprus?

In summary, Cyprus is not exempt from the 90 day rule for non-EU citizens in the Schengen Area, and it is crucial for travelers to adhere to the rule to avoid legal consequences.

Here is a table summarizing the maximum stay allowed for non-EU citizens within a 180-day period in the Schengen Area:

Country Maximum Stay Allowed
Austria 90 days
Belgium 90 days
Czech Republic 90 days
Denmark 90 days
Estonia 90 days
Finland 90 days
France 90 days
Germany 90 days
Greece 90 days
Hungary 90 days
Iceland 90 days
Italy 90 days
Latvia 90 days
Liechtenstein 90 days
Lithuania 90 days
Luxembourg 90 days
Malta 90 days
Netherlands 90 days
Norway 90 days
Poland 90 days
Portugal 90 days
Slovakia 90 days
Slovenia 90 days
Spain 90 days
Sweden 90 days
Switzerland 90 days

Video answer to your question

The video explains the Schengen area and the 90-day rule, which means people from certain nationalities can stay within the area for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period. The video provides a visual aid on how to count the days in and out of the Schengen area to extend visits. It also mentions Croatia and Romania offering longer stays before having to leave again. Additionally, the video highlights the issue of breakdown cover when traveling to mainland Turkey due to insurance problems and emphasizes that staying in Europe for more than 90 days is possible with planning and effort.

Other responses to your inquiry

According to Cyprus Tax Law, an individual who spends 183 or more days in Cyprus during any given tax year is considered to be a Cyprus Tax Resident.

You will probably be interested in this

Does Cyprus count in your 90 days?
As a response to this: Cyprus is not part of the Schengen area, Visits to Cyprus do not count towards your 90-day visa-free limit in the Schengen area. Visits to other EU or Schengen countries do not count towards your 90-day visa-free limit in Cyprus. You can travel to Cyprus for up to 90 days in any 180-day period without a visa.
Does the 90 180-day rule apply in Cyprus?
Response will be: The immigration rules for non Schengen citizens are standardised, so if you are given permission to visit one Schengen country you can visit all of the others. You get 90 days in all of Schengen in each block of 180 days.
Which countries are exempt from 90 day rule?
The “passport free” zone includes almost all the EU countries except Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania – plus Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican City. Stays in all these countries count towards that 90 day limit.
Is Cyprus going to be Schengen in 2023?
Answer: Cyprus will be joining the Schengen Information System on July 25th, 2023 after having been positively assessed and following decades of efforts.

Rate article
Travel to Cyprus