Fast response to: how many regions are there in Cyprus?

There are six regions in Cyprus.

Response to the query in detail

Cyprus is divided into six regions, each of which has its own capital city. These regions are:

  1. Nicosia – The capital of Cyprus is situated in the region of Nicosia. It is the largest region in terms of population and area.

  2. Limassol – The second largest region in Cyprus is Limassol. It is known for its beautiful beaches and the famous Limassol Carnival.

  3. Larnaca – Located on the south coast of Cyprus, Larnaca is known for its palm tree-lined seafront and the Hala Sultan Tekke mosque.

  4. Paphos – The region of Paphos in the west of Cyprus is known for its beautiful coastline, ancient ruins, and UNESCO World Heritage sites.

  5. Famagusta – Situated on the east coast of Cyprus, Famagusta is a historical city renowned for its medieval walls and Gothic churches.

  6. Kyrenia – Located in the northern part of Cyprus, Kyrenia is known for its stunning harbor and picturesque scenery.

According to Lonely Planet, Cyprus boasts “long stretches of sandy beach, crystal-clear waters, picturesque mountain ranges dotted with charming villages, and a rich history.” It is a popular tourist destination for both its natural beauty and its cultural heritage, with a range of outdoor activities including hiking, biking, and water sports.

Here is a table summarizing some interesting facts about each region:

Region Capital City Notable Attractions
Nicosia Nicosia Ledra Street, Selimiye Mosque
Limassol Limassol Limassol Carnival, Amathus Ruins
Larnaca Larnaca Hala Sultan Tekke, Finikoudes Beach
Paphos Paphos Aphrodite’s Rock, Paphos Archaeological Park
Famagusta Famagusta Othello’s Tower, Salamis Ruins
Kyrenia Kyrenia Kyrenia Harbor, St. Hilarion Castle
IT\'S IMPORTANT:  Can cyprus issue schengen visa?

As British author Lawrence Durrell once wrote, “In Cyprus, daily life is a reflection of the island’s long and complicated history.”

This video contains the answer to your query

The video provides an overview of the five main regions in Northern Cyprus, including Kyrenia, Iskele, and Famagusta, highlighting their unique features and attractions such as sandy beaches, ancient cities, and great infrastructure for summer holidays. The video also explores various available properties in regions such as Varusha district, Fam Augusta, Gazelle Tragen, and Nicosia, emphasizing the diversity of crops and beautiful gardens. The video concludes by offering assistance in finding the best properties and inviting viewers to a free three-day tour of Northern Cyprus.

Some further responses to your query

six districtsCyprus is divided into six districts: Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol and Paphos in the Republic of Cyprus, and Famagusta and Kyrenia in the Northern Cyprus-controlled areas.

Cyprus has regions made up of the following administrative divisions:

  • Nicosia
  • Limassol
  • Paphos
  • Larnaka (in the government-controlled areas)

Cyprus is divided into six districts: Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol and Paphos in the Republic of Cyprus, and Famagusta and Kyrenia in the Northern Cyprus-controlled areas.

In addition, people ask

What are the 6 districts of Cyprus?
Answer: Cyprus is divided into six administrative districts. These are: Nicosia, Limassol, Pafos, Larnaka, (in the government-controlled areas) and Famagusta and Keryneia (in the occupied areas).
How many districts does Cyprus have?
Answer will be: 6 Districts
Districts of Cyprus

Districts of Cyprus Επαρχίες της Κύπρου (Greek) Kıbrıs’ın kazaları (Turkish)
Location Republic of Cyprus
Number 6 Districts
Populations Famagusta 47,338 – Nicosia 334,120
Areas Kyrenia (643.9 km²) – Nicosia (2,710 km²)
IT\'S IMPORTANT:  How many branches does cyprus credit union have?


Which side of Cyprus is Turkish?
As an answer to this: North Cyprus is not part of the EU, and is primarily Turkish, using the Turkish Lira currency.
Which parts of Cyprus are Greek?
As a response to this: Cyprus has never been a Greek Island. It is both useful and important to keep in mind that there has never been in Cyprus a "Cypriot nation" due to the distinct national, religious and cultural characteristics of each ethnic people who, in addition, speak different languages.
How many parts of Cyprus are there?
The reply will be: However, the Republic of Cyprus is de facto partitioned into two main parts: the area under the effective control of the Republic, located in the south and west and comprising about 59% of the island’s area, and the north, administered by the self-declared Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, covering about 36% of the island’s area.
How many districts are in Cyprus?
Cyprus is divided into six districts ( Greek: επαρχίες; Turkish: kaza ), whose capitals share the same name. The districts are subdivided into municipalities and communities. The districts of Cyprus are listed in the table below. Note: Northern Cyprus -controlled lands are included in the area figures, but population was not enumerated there.
What are the largest cities in Cyprus?
The reply will be: The largest cities in Cyprus are Nicosia, Limassol, Larnaca, Famagusta, Paphos, Morphou and Kyrenia . Note: Some names were changed from Turkish after 1974. Most of the Turkish names were established in 1958, then some of them were changed after the 1974 invasion (e.g. Kourou Monastiri in Nicosia District).
How many Greek Cypriots live in Cyprus?
Answer to this: The Turkish invasion of Cyprus in 1974 de facto partitioned the island into two political areas: 99.5% of Greek Cypriots now live in the Republic of Cyprus while 98.7% of Turkish Cypriots live in Northern Cyprus (99.2% of other nationalities live in the Greek Cypriot area in the south).

Rate article
Travel to Cyprus