Swift answer to — what countries recognize Cyprus?

Cyprus is recognized by the majority of countries in the world, including the United States, the United Kingdom, and Russia. However, it is not recognized by Turkey.

If you want a thorough response, read below

Cyprus is recognized by the majority of countries in the world, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Russia, France, Germany, and China. However, it is not recognized by Turkey, which occupies the northern part of the island. The international community supports the reunification of Cyprus and has made numerous attempts to resolve the ongoing conflict between the Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots.

According to the United Nations, “the status quo in Cyprus is unsustainable.” The UN has been working towards a solution to reunify the island and end the division between the two communities. However, decades of talks and peace negotiations have failed to reach a final agreement.

In 2004, a UN plan for Cyprus reunification was put to a referendum. The plan was accepted by the Turkish Cypriots but rejected by the Greek Cypriots. Kofi Annan, the former Secretary-General of the United Nations, stated, “There is no Plan B. If the plan is not accepted, there will not be a reunification of Cyprus.”

Another interesting fact is that Cyprus is a member of the European Union since 2004, but only the southern part of the island enjoys the benefits of EU membership. The north is considered to be occupied territory and is not recognized by the EU.

IT\'S IMPORTANT:  How do I respond to "Can I enter Croatia with Cyprus visa?"

Table of countries that recognize Cyprus:

| —————– | ————– |
| United States | France |
| United Kingdom | Germany |
| Russia | China |
| Australia | Cyprus |
| Canada | Greece |
| Japan | Italy |
| India | Spain |
| South Korea | Netherlands |
| Sweden | Denmark |
| Norway | Ireland |
| Hungary | Austria |
| Portugal | Belgium |
| Switzerland | Poland |
| Finland | Czech Republic|
| Israel | Estonia |
| Iceland | Latvia |
| Slovenia | Lithuania |
| Slovakia | Luxemburg |
| Malta | |
| —————– | ————– |

In the words of former U.S. President Bill Clinton, “Cyprus’ tragedy has been a longstanding one, but we have never lost sight of the goal of a bi-zonal, bi-communal federation based on political equality, as defined by the United Nations.” The international community continues to work towards a comprehensive solution that will bring lasting peace and stability to the island of Cyprus.

See a video about the subject

The video discusses partially recognized countries around the world in three categories based on their UN status. Among the examples given are Taiwan, recognized by some countries but not others due to conflicts with China, and Israel and Palestine, recognized only partially due to differing international recognition. Other countries touched on include North Cyprus, Western Sahara, Kosovo, Transnistria, South Ossetia, Abkhazia, and Armenia, which are recognized by only a handful of UN member states, if at all. Somaliland, the successor state to Somalia, maintains unofficial relations with several countries but is not officially recognized by any state.

Further answers can be found here

The United States recognized Cyprus on . In 1983, a Turkish-controlled area located on the northern section of the island declared its independence, calling itself the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC). Turkey has been the only country in the world to recognize the TRNC, however.

I am confident that you will be interested in these issues

Is Cyprus Internationally recognized?
Cyprus is a member of the United Nations along with most of its agencies as well as the Commonwealth of Nations, World Bank, International Monetary Fund and Council of Europe.

IT\'S IMPORTANT:  Query from you: is Ayia Napa near Paphos?

What country does not recognize Cyprus? Turkey
At present Turkey is the only country which recognises Northern Cyprus. In 1983 Bangladesh and Pakistan withdrew recognition after UNSC Resolution 541 amid international pressure.

Similarly, Does the US recognize Cyprus? The United States and The Republic of Cyprus established official diplomatic relations in 1960, right after the British Cyprus’s independence from the United Kingdom.

Also, Does the EU recognize Cyprus?
Answer to this: Accession to the European Union
In 2004, Cyprus became a full member of the European Union. Being a small, divided island nation, the European Union had represented an attractive solution to Greek Cypriots to act as a safety net against Turkey.

Considering this, Does the US recognize Cyprus? Although the United States has never recognized the TRNC, it has consistently maintained its diplomatic relations with Cyprus since 1960. Recognition. U.S. Recognition of Cyprus, 1960. The United States recognized Cyprus on August 16, 1960, when the decision was announced in a Department of State press release.

Beside this, Is Cyprus a part of Europe? Visit the Definitions and Notes page to view a description of each topic. Middle East, island in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Turkey; note – Cyprus views itself as part of Europe; geopolitically, it can be classified as falling within Europe, the Middle East, or both temperate; Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and cool winters

Regarding this, Which countries are represented in Cyprus?
The answer is: Cyprus is represented in Indonesia through its High Commission in Canberra, Australia. Indonesia is represented in Cyprus through its embassy in Rome, Italy. In the case of Israel, Cyprus has occasionally outwardly backed the Palestinians in the Arab–Israeli conflict, to the annoyance of some in the Israeli government.

IT\'S IMPORTANT:  Are cars expensive in cyprus?

Additionally, Is Northern Cyprus a separate political entity?
The status of Northern Cyprus as a separate political entity is recognised only by Turkey. The Cypriot media mirror the island’s political division, with the Turkish-controlled zone in the north operating its own press and broadcasters.

Rate article
Travel to Cyprus